top of page

Rwera Mixed Primary School Ntungamo, Uganda

Uganda

Uganda was dubbed the "Pearl of Africa" by Winston Churchill for harboring one of the most diverse and concentrated ranges of African fauna. Aside from the amazing landscapes and variety of animals, more than half of the population does not have access to electricity. What's more, people don't have access to modern fuels for cooking. Both are fundamental parts of our lives and we want to change these numbers.

Our partner

The project "Help for Deaf Children in Uganda" was founded more than 20 years ago by Gerhard Ehrenreich and helps deaf children and young people to gain access to education and to lead a self-determined life. All employees of the project work voluntarily and all administrative and other costs are borne by the Bavarian Association for the Deaf or by the employees themselves.

The project

The Rwera Mixed Primary School/Unit for the Deaf - Ntungamo currently has no or only a very insufficient and too expensive electricity supply. The solar panels are not sufficient for this school, the batteries are outdated or so weak that the supply of light in the evening is no longer guaranteed. Lessons in the evening hours - as is usual in Uganda - are not possible.  A meaningful leisure activity in the evening or communication via signs (the only form of communication among the deaf) is not possible for the children. Since the schools are financed exclusively through donations, we want to contribute with our donations to making the school a safer place for deaf children.  

images-removebg-preview.png
Electrician on the roof, Rewera School.jpg
20191125 Children in front of the school building.jpg
bottom of page

top of page

Rwera Mixed Primary School Ntungamo, Uganda

Uganda

Uganda wurde von Winston Churchill als "Perle Afrikas" bezeichnet, weil es eine der vielfältigsten und am stärksten konzentrierten Reihen der afrikanischen Fauna beherbergt. Abgesehen von den erstaunlichen Landschaften und der Vielfalt der Tiere hat mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung keinen Zugang zu Elektrizität. Mehr noch, die Menschen haben keinen Zugang zu modernen Brennstoffen zum Kochen. Beides sind grundlegende Bestandteile unseres Lebens, und wir wollen diese Zahlen ändern.

Unser Partner

Das Projekt "Hilfe für gehörlose Kinder in Uganda" wurde vor mehr als 20 Jahren von Gerhard Ehrenreich gegründet und hilft gehörlosen Kindern und Jugendlichen, Zugang zu Bildung zu erhalten und ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu führen. Alle Mitarbeiter des Projekts sind ehrenamtlich tätig und alle Verwaltungs- und sonstigen Kosten werden vom Bayerischen Gehörlosenbund e.V. oder von den Mitarbeitern selbst getragen.

Das Projekt

Die Rwera Mixed Primary School/Unit for the Deaf - Ntungamo hat derzeit keine oder nur eine sehr unzureichende und zu teure Stromversorgung. Für diese Schule reichen die Solarpaneele nicht aus, die Batterien sind veraltet oder so schwach, dass eine Versorgung mit Licht am Abend nicht mehr gewährleistet ist. Unterricht in den Abendstunden - wie in Uganda üblich - ist nicht möglich.  Eine sinnvolle Freizeitbeschäftigung am Abend oder die Kommunikation über Gebärden (die einzige Form der Kommunikation unter Gehörlosen) ist für die Kinder nicht möglich. Da sich die Schulen ausschließlich durch Spenden finanzieren, wollen wir mit unseren Spenden dazu beitragen, dass die Schule ein sicherer Ort für gehörlose Kinder wird. 

images-removebg-preview.png
Elektriker auf dem Dach, Rewera School.jpg
20191125 Kinder vor dem Schulgebäude.jpg
bottom of page